Contemporary Art Society, Queensland Branch

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Contemporary Art Society, Queensland Branch

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The Society hosted regular exhibitions and activities around Brisbane including lectures, broadsheets & newsletters. It was formed in 1961 at St Mary's Studio, Kangaroo Point and ceased activity in 1973. Principle committee members were: Don Ross, Roy Churcher, Ian Still, Dianna Bennett, Don Mills, Gertrude Langer, Bronwyn Yeates, John Rigby, Tony Morphett, Arthur Gunthorpe, Andrew Sibley, Milton Moon.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places