File FGF120 - Contemporary Art Society - Queensland Branch Gallery File

Identity area

Reference code



Contemporary Art Society - Queensland Branch Gallery File


  • 1963- (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

1 folder ; 30 cm.

Context area

Name of creator

Administrative history

The Society hosted regular exhibitions and activities around Brisbane including lectures, broadsheets & newsletters. It was formed in 1961 at St Mary's Studio, Kangaroo Point and ceased activity in 1973. Principle committee members were: Don Ross, Roy Churcher, Ian Still, Dianna Bennett, Don Mills, Gertrude Langer, Bronwyn Yeates, John Rigby, Tony Morphett, Arthur Gunthorpe, Andrew Sibley, Milton Moon.

Archival history

From the Fryer Library Art Exhibition Catalogues of Queensland.

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Contains material such as art exhibition catalogues, invitations and ephemeral items relating to Australian artists exhibiting in Queensland galleries.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Unrestricted access.

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Similar material can be found in UQFL634, Glenn Cooke Papers

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used



Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion

Migrated from LMS: April 2019, P.A.




Accession area