Showing 3 results

Archival description
Miles Franklin Literary Award
Advanced search options
Print preview View:

Melissa Lucashenko Papers

  • UQFL635
  • Collection
  • 2012-2018

Draft of Mullumbimby, published by University of Queensland Press in 2013 and manuscript drafts, notes, and plot point cards for Too much lip, published by University of Queensland Press in 2018. Too much lip won the Miles Franklin Literary award in 2019.

Lucashenko, Melissa, 1967-

The Great World [Novel] (1990)

In The Great World Malouf enters familiar Australian territory with a story of war experience and mateship. The narrative contrasts the personalities of two men and their experiences in the Second World War, Digger Keen, the archetypal, taciturn Australian, gifted with a photographic memory, and Vic Curran, whose ambition and drive take him from poverty to the top of the business world. The Great World was first published in 1990 and won the Miles Franklin Award in 1991, the Adelaide Festival Award and two international awards, the 1991 Commonwealth Prize for fiction and the Prix Femina Etranger in France for the best foreign novel. This subseries consists of a draft early version of the novel, originally titled ‘The Memorialists’, the first handwritten draft of the novel, and a typescript draft in five parts with many handwritten corrections and additions.

Oscar and Lucinda [novel] (1988)

Oscar and Lucinda had the working titles 'Orphans', 'Broken Glass', and 'Holy Ghost'. Published in 1988 in Australia by University of Queensland Press. In the same year it won the Book Council Award (Australia), Booker Prize for Fiction (Australia) and Miles Franklin Award. Includes: Complete and incomplete drafts of Oscar and Lucinda and its working titles, including corrections, notes, correspondence, research material, publicity material, reviews, speech notes for the launch of Oscar and Lucinda. Oscar and Lucinda has won the Booker Prize 1988, Miles Franklin Award 1989, NBC Banjo Award 1989, Townsville Foundation for Australian Literary Studies Award 1988, and the Festival Award for Literature (South Australia) 1990.