Showing 1 results

Archival description
Daphne Mayo Papers Dwyer, L. J., 1892-1962 Item
Advanced search options
Print preview View:

Founders of the Australian Academy of Art

Photograph taken by Les Dwyer, Canberra Studios, Manuka of the 11 delegates at the inaugural meeting in Canberra in June 1937 which founded the Australian Academy of Art. Photograph of Daphne Mayo in the front row, with Norman Carter, Sydney Ure Smith, Robert Gordon Menzies (the Federal Attorney-General), Rayner Hoff, and John Eldershaw. In the back row are William Beckwith McInnes, Han Heysen, Robert Henderson Croll, Harold Brocklebank Herbert and William Rowell. All figures identified in pen along lower margin of photograph; photographer's signature lower right margin and studio stamp on verso.

Dwyer, L. J., 1892-1962