Item F3149 - Miscellaneous publications of the Self-Management Group and other political organisations

Identity area

Reference code



Miscellaneous publications of the Self-Management Group and other political organisations


  • 1971-1980. (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

99 items ; 44 cm. or smaller.

Context area

Name of creator

Biographical history

Name of creator

Administrative history

Self-Management Group (1971-1977). Formerly the Revolutionary Socialist Party.
Objectives - S.M.G. was unified around the essential demand for workers' councils as the basis of a real democracy. In these councils people will have equal decision-making and be paid an equal wage. The Group did not see itself as yet another leadership, merely as people in socialist struggle where they live and work.
Publicists - Sue Bissett, Bruce Doyle, Esme Garner, Greg George, Peter Kearney, Tony Kneipp, L. Beams, Brian Laver, A. Theodore, Bobby Walker.
Note: Continued as Libertarian Socialist Organization and as Self-Management Organization (the latter became defunct).

Name of creator

Administrative history

Libertarian Socialist Organisation (1977-) (Formerly Self-Management Group).
Objectives - A self-managed society, by which is meant the abolition of the state, the abolition of private ownership of the means of production, equal wages, displacement of the consumer society, the re-organization of work, equal decision-making and direct democracy based on a federation of workers' and community councils. Human liberation not nationalism.
Note: Associated with People for Direct Democracy.

Name of creator

Administrative history

Revolutionary Socialist Party (1970-1971). Became Self-management Group.
Objectives - A socialist humanist society based on workers' self-management in all institutions, rank and file control of unions and a staff-student self-managed university.
Publicists - Greg Adler, Cam Cunningham, Terry Cook, Brian Laver, Janita Laver, John McCarthy, Sue McCarthy, Mal Price, Diane Zetlin, Larry Zetlin.
Notes: Associated with the Workers' Management Group and Queensland Committee on Political Prisoners. The trotskyite Labour Action Group was formed after the 1971 split in R.S.P.

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Leaflets, posters, political ephemera.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Organised in the following series:
(A) Askatasuma;
(B) Friends of the Earth;
(C) Libertarian Socialist Organisation;
(D) Libertarian Teachers;
(E) Libertarian Workers for a Self-managed Society;
(F) People for Direct Democracy;
(G) Self-Management Group;
(H) Revolutionary Socialist Party;
(I) War Resisters' League;
(J) Woodstock Anarchist Party;
(K) No organisation named.

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Unrestricted access.

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used



Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion

Migrated from LMS: April 2019, P.A.




Accession area